The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the ultimate authority on cricket laws, has officially weighed in on the controversial dismissal of Joe Root by Akash Deep in the recent Edgbaston Test match between England and India, settling the debate and confirming the legality of the delivery. The incident sparked widespread discussion among fans, commentators, and former players, with many questioning whether Akash Deep's back foot had crossed the return crease during his delivery stride, potentially making it a no-ball.
The contentious moment occurred during the second delivery of the tenth over, with Root being clean bowled by an incoming delivery from Akash Deep. Root's dismissal was a crucial breakthrough for India, reducing England to 50/3 while chasing a target of 608 runs. Replays of the delivery ignited the debate, with many observers suggesting that Akash Deep's back foot had landed outside the return crease, which, according to cricket laws, would constitute a no-ball.
Law 21.5.1 of the MCC's Laws of Cricket governs the legality of a bowler's delivery stride, stating that "the bowler's back foot must land within and not touching the return crease". The confusion arose because, while Akash Deep's foot appeared to hover or even touch outside the return crease after landing, the crucial factor is where the foot first makes contact with the ground.
The MCC clarified its stance, emphasizing that the point of landing is determined by "the very first moment any part of the foot makes contact with the ground". According to the MCC, even if some of the foot subsequently lands over the line, the delivery is legal if the first point of contact is inside the crease. In Akash Deep's case, the MCC found that his foot initially landed within the crease, and only then did it slide or touch outside. This, the MCC affirmed, is entirely permissible under the current laws.
The on-field umpires, Chris Gaffaney and Sharfuddoula Saikat, did not call a no-ball, and third umpire Paul Reiffel did not intervene. Former India coach Ravi Shastri, who was commentating at the time, also asserted the delivery's legality. However, some English commentators and former players, such as Jonathan Trott, expressed their doubts. Alison Mitchell, commentating on BBC Test Match Special, noted that Akash Deep's back foot appeared to be "about two inches" over the line.
The MCC's final verdict puts an end to the controversy, confirming that the umpires made the correct decision in deeming Akash Deep's delivery legal. The club's explanation centered on the precise interpretation of Law 21.5.1, highlighting that the initial point of contact of the foot is the determining factor. The MCC's intervention underscores its role as the ultimate authority on the Laws of Cricket and its commitment to providing clarity on complex or contentious issues. The resolution of this incident ensures that the focus remains on the game itself, preventing any lingering doubts about the legitimacy of the dismissal from overshadowing the on-field action.